top of page

sandra kerr

Sandra Kerr is a folk legend. Her long and distinguished career in folk music began with her days with Ewan MacColl’s Critics Group, and "...besides being a versatile musician with a beautifully expressive voice, she is an exceptionally good song-writer."(FRoots)
With Ewan and Peggy and the Critics, she performed all over the world, and recorded numerous albums including Sweet Thames flow Softly, A Merry Progress To London, Waterloo-Peterloo, As We Were A-Sailing, Ye Mariners All, John and Sandra, and The Female Frolic.

Well known as the co-writer, with John Faulkner, of the music for "Bagpuss", (voted 'best-loved BBC TV children’s programme’ in 1999), don't miss her Festival show with Bob Fischer, 'Bagpuss and Beyond', where Sandra will share the songs and stories of her extraordinary life. 

Sandra directs folk choirs, including the popular and award-winning Northumbrian Choir Werca’s Folk, and is greatly respected as a tutor of folk arts. She is a multi-instrumentalist, playing guitar, dulcimer, autoharp and the English concertina. She is popular as a tutor on the latter instrument and has  taught regularly at concertina gatherings including the ‘Swaledale Squeeze’ and  ‘Concertinas At Whitney’, and twice at the National Folk Festival Easter School in Canberra. For the last 10 years Sandra has been a lecturer at Newcastle University, on the Degree Course in Folk & Traditional Music and has had the pleasure of seeing many young musicians and singers she has worked with making a great contribution as respected performers on the Folk scene (Emily Portman, Jonnie Kearney & Lucy Farrell, The Shee et. al.).

She continues to perform, with Sisters Unlimited, with the Bagpuss Show (featuring Nancy Kerr, James Fagan and John Faulnker), with Taffy Thomas, master story-teller presenting a range of themed shows, and with the Anti-Capitalist Road Show (with Leon Rosselson, Roy Bailey, Frankie Armstrong, Peggy Seeger and others), and her solo work in recent years has taken her to Australia, the USA, Burkina Faso, Catalonia, France, Italy and the Philippines.

bottom of page