top of page
will jenn.jpeg

Will Pound &
Jenn Butterworth

Jenn Butterworth is one of the most notable folk guitarists in the UK acoustic music scene. In recent years she was awarded ‘Musician of the Year’ by the Scots Trad Music Awards and was nominated for the same title in the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. An excellent collaborator, she works with a range of high profile folk music projects, including Ross Ainslie and Ali Hutton’s SYMBIOSIS, award winning folk powerhouses Kinnaris Quintet, Treacherous Orchestra and Fiddlers’ Bid, supergroup ‘Songs of Separation’ involving an array of prominent folk artists including Eliza Carthy, Lady Maisery and Karine Polwart. The Songs of Separation album, conceived, arranged and recorded in just 7 days, won the title of ‘Best Album’ at the Radio 2 Folk Awards in 2017.

Will Pound is one of the finest harmonica and melodeon players of his generation, a musician of extraordinary virtuosity and improvisational skill combined with deep traditional roots. Will has pushed the technical boundaries and repertoires of these instruments in projects and line-ups past and present with musicians including Eddy Jay, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Liz Carrol, Martin Simpson, Guy Chambers, Concerto Caledonia, and Robbie Williams.

In his youth Will was a member of Goldie’s Band: By Royal Appointment, an ensemble of
exceptional young musicians convened for a 3-part BBC2 TV series of that name; and in 2012 he
played the signature harmonica break on the Christmas No.1 single He Ain’t Heavy: He’s My Brother with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the Justice Collective, including Sir Paul McCartney, Beverley Knight, Mick Jones and Shane McGowan, produced in support of the Hillsborough families.


A chance meeting at a folk session in 2018 led to Will and Jenn’s music travelling around the world as a viral TikTok sensation in lockdown. In their live shows they play a game of ‘musical cat and mouse’; improvising and responding to each other, weaving virtuosic performances that are unique and in-the-moment as only two musicians highly accomplished in their craft can produce. Their debut album, Volume 1 was recorded live, over two days in Glasgow, and released on 24 February 2023.

bottom of page